The wikiStasi

This is a nice example of how the wiki-Stasi operates. These losers nitpick your edit history going back years and years to find anything they disagree with and then post a summary on your talk page to tell you you’re being watched. Creepy and a waste of time.

Here are some of my favorite Stasi members to watch:

I have to admit that I have sort of done the same Stasi work on these guys. Counter-intelligence I guess? The common trend is that early on in their wiki days they made some actual contributions (Jorm in particular I think did some real programming work that I think helped the whole wikimedia community) but then later on they just became obsessed with reverting things they don’t like, and bullying. Jorm’s favorite line is “cool story bro“. Very little actual article-writing or editing goes on with these guys. They are interested in “maintaining order” rather than producing something worthwhile. Look through their histories and everything is either in a Talk page, or it’s a revert. SAD.

My political views are very different from theirs, generally so you might think I’m biased, but it’s pretty clear that they don’t approach wikipedia in a positive way. More on that another day…

Leave a comment